Life

I haven’t posted anything on my blog or website in a very long time. I normally don’t post anything that’s personal. It’s been a crazy few months. On April 22, 2019 my 73 year old father died. It seemed to come out of the blue but looking back it had been coming for awhile. My dad didn’t have any services and didn’t even have an obituary in the local newspaper. He was that kind of man. Maybe it’s because we’re from the American midwest (Ohio). I think being a midwesterner, at least to me, means that you go about your business, nothing and I mean nothing, is handed to you, you work for everything you have. When you die, you don’t make a big deal about it; it’s just part of life and living. I’m sure my philosophy comes from my parents.

I haven’t had a close family member die in a very long time. The last family member that was close to me who die was my maternal grandma. That was in 2000. I never had something like this hit me so hard. It was literally like a gut punch. It took the wind out of me. But I try to take a positive out of this. My maternal grandpa died when he was 56. I never new him. At least my daughter had 18 years with him. I never had that opportunity.

And why is it life altering experiences happen at once. A month after my dad passes away my daughter graduated from the Ashland County-West Holmes Career Center then Mapleton High School. I have step-children whom are anywhere from 10 years to 13 years younger than me (my husband and I had full custody of them). So my entire marriage consisted of having children in the house. Now, they are all grown up, including my daughter. Where do I go from here? I want to make a career change and have my own business, an art studio/gallery but how do I do that? I’m getting older every day and I’m scared to make a huge change, but I have to don’t I?

I have a feeling over the next few months my life might get even crazier, if it’s possible. Why is it that you go through life the same old, same old until of the send, boom everything changes. I have a feeling this is going to happen to me in my professional life. Things feel funny with the place I work at, something is going to happen. I have to break out, I have to make my mark before it’s too late, before I’m gone.

My Favorite Place, Colorado

Published by crookedcreekphotosllc

I'm a landscape photographer who specializes in North American landscapes, as well as insects and floral.

Leave a comment